top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaitlin Geaney

A Bright New Sunrise

This summer I took a three week drivers training course. During the course I had 6 drive times with an instructor. The first time I had to drive I was terrified .

The only driving I had done previously was circles in a parking lot the night before. I sat in the back of the car and watched in horror as my partner was told to make turns, lane changes and drive on a main road.


When my turn came I timidly got in the front seat. That was probably one of my most nervous moments ever . As much as I wanted to run away, I couldn’t. As much as I didn’t want to put that car in drive, as much as I didn’t want to take my foot off that brake, I had to. I just had to do it. I just had to drive. I had no choice but go forward and follow my instructors’ directions.


That’s how my life feels right now. Everything is moving forward and there’s no stopping it. School’s starting again even though last fall feels like it was only a month ago. Summer has come and gone. A summer full of adventures. Another year of dance, another year of school. I’m a sophomore now. One year down three to go. I did it. I finished freshmen year.


My sweet baby brother turned one and now he’s walking. What happened to the grumpy bundle I spent hours cuddling, singing to and desperately trying to get to sleep? Our closest family friends just moved here. Something we had only dreamed of. We added a member to our officially unofficial extended family. A new chapter is unfolding in my life. Sometimes I want to hit the pause button, to stop it all, but I can’t.


Adulthood and becoming a responsible human being are looming not to far ahead. At times I don’t feel like I have any idea where I’m going or what I’m doing. It’s a little scary but it’s mostly exciting. Just like driving that car for the very first time. And just as I had to trust my instructor and follow her directions, I have to trust God as He’s working and directing my life. I’m heading into the bright sunrise of a new chapter in my life. Let’s do this.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blobs

bottom of page